ABOUT US

We Help Change Laws

We have been involved in changing Canadian immigration law. We have appeared before the House of Commons and Senate to address changes to the definition of ‘family’ to include same-sex and queer families. We have appeared before Parliamentary Standing Committees on immigration issues to advocate to remove medical inadmissibility from Canadian law. We have appeared at every level of court in Canada, including the Federal Court of Appeal and Supreme Court of Canada. We regularly advocate for refugees and persons denied applications before the Immigration and Refugee Board. Click here to read about our important court cases.

 

We are community leaders

We work closely with community organizations to lead legal information seminars on topics related to refugees, sponsorship, appeals, risk assessments, removal orders, and other services to new immigrants. Our office was the birthplace of Rainbow Railroad, an international LGBTQ refugee support organization. We provide legal support to community-based organizations such as the 519 Church Street Community Centre, the Metropolitan Community Church of Toronto, the Committee for Accessible AIDS Treatment, EGALE Canada Human Rights Trust, and the Black Coalition for AIDS Prevention. Our perspective on immigration issues is frequently sought out by media. Review a selection of media articles here

 

We are teachers

We are adjunct faculty at the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Law and School of Public Policy and Governance, regularly provide papers and presentations at legal conferences throughout Canada and internationally and have authored a legal text on the intersection of immigration and family law. We authored a chapter in the first legal text entirely devoted to the practice of LGBTQ2+ law in Canada. We teach Refugee Protection, Detention, Appeals, and Humanitarian and Compassionate courses at the University of British Columbia’s Continuing Education Program.

We are immigrants

We are proud to have diverse staff who understand the immigrant experience. The migration experience is in our DNA.

Video

2019-02-12 (2).png

OUR LAWYERS

Michael Battista

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 31

battista@migrationlawgroup.com

Adrienne Smith
Adrienne Smith

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 34

smith@migrationlawgroup.com

Pablo Irribarra
Pablo Irribarra

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 21

irribarra@migrationlawgroup.com

Nicholas Woodward
Rebeka Lauks

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 57

woodward@migrationlawgroup.com

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 24

lauks@migrationlawgroup.com

OUR TEAM

Justyna Derbis

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 33

justyna@migrationlawgroup.com

Immigration Consultant

Maria Diaz

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 22

maria@migrationlawgroup.com

Paralegal

Nadine Cardin

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 30

reception@migrationlawgroup.com

Receptionist

Salem Mehari

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 27

salem@migrationlawgroup.com

Practice Manager

Monica Diaz

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 23

monica@migrationlawgroup.com

Immigration Consultant / Paralegal

Ruwanthi Mudalige

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 32

ruwanthi@migrationlawgroup.com

Law Clerk

Kate Bowley

Tel: (416) 203-2899

kate@migrationlawgroup.com

Immigration Assistant/Financial Clerk

Learn about us by talking to us over the phone or via email.

© by Battista Smith Migration Law Group

  • Grey Facebook Icon