We are shapers of the law

We have been involved in shaping Canadian immigration law in Parliament and in Canadian courts. During the creation of Canada’s current immigration legislation from 1999-2001, we appeared in the House of Commons and Senate to address the reformulation of the family class to include same-sex families. We have appeared before Parliamentary standing committees on human rights issues and most recently provided testimony on eliminating health grounds as a basis of inadmissibility - a position which the Parliamentary committee adopted. We have been consistent advocates in the Federal Court and before immigration tribunals a fair application of immigration law and policy. See our reported cases here.

 

We are community leaders

We support community organizations in understanding immigration laws and in providing services to new immigrants. Our offices were the birthplace of Rainbow Railroad, an international LGBTQ refugee support organization. We have provided legal support to community based organizations such as the 519 Church Street Community Centre, the Metropolitan Community Church of Toronto, the Committee for Accessible AIDS Treatment, and the Black Coalition for AIDS Prevention. Our perspective on immigration issues is frequently sought out by media. Review a selection of articles here. 

 

We are teachers

We are adjunct faculty at the University of Toronto’s Faculty of Law and School of Public Policy and Governance, regularly provide papers and presentations at legal conferences throughout Canada and internationally, and have authored a legal text on the intersection of immigration and family law. We teach refugee law at the University of British Columbia’s Continuing Education Program.

 

We are Immigrants

We are proud to have diverse staff who understand the immigrant experience. The migration experience is in our DNA.

Video

2019-02-12 (2).png

OUR LAWYERS

Michael Battista

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 31

battista@migrationlawgroup.com

Adrienne Smith
Adrienne Smith

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 34

smith@migrationlawgroup.com

Pablo Irribarra
Pablo Irribarra

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 21

irribarra@migrationlawgroup.com

Nicholas Woodward

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 57

woodward@migrationlawgroup.com

Charlotte Cass

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 29

cass@migrationlawgroup.com

OUR TEAM

Justyna Derbis

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 33

justyna@migrationlawgroup.com

Immigration Consultant

Nadine Cardin

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 30

reception@migrationlawgroup.com

Receptionist

Monica Diaz

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 23

monica@migrationlawgroup.com

Immigration Consultant / Paralegal

Maria Diaz

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 22

maria@migrationlawgroup.com

Paralegal

Salem Mehari

Tel: (416) 203-2899, x. 27

salem@migrationlawgroup.com

Practice Manager

© by Battista Smith Migration Law Group

  • Grey Facebook Icon